My Vegan Weekend

I’ve been vegetarian for over a year now and I also use cruelty-free products, but the idea of going totally vegan has played on my mind a while, veganism means not only abstaining from eating animal products (meat, dairy, eggs, honey, gelatine etc), wearing animal products (wool, leather, fur etc) and using household/personal hygiene products (containing bees wax, royal jelly etc).

I decided I was going to ease myself into it and have a “vegan weekend”, 2 days of eating like a vegan, its still a short while until my payday and so I would like to start and say that I was very limited to my food choices, but this is what I picked up in Tesco prior to my experiment;

  • 1.5kg White Potatoes
  • Tomatoes
  • Red Onions
  • White Plain Tortilla
  • Red Seedless Grapes
  • Bananas
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Iceberg Lettuce
  • Sweet Chilli Hoummous
  • Caramel Rice cakes
  • Large head of Cauliflower

As I said I was very limited!

DAY ONE (Saturday)

I went into town in the morning and I never eat breakfast anyway so, I’ll go straight onto lunch, I decided to make a Vegetable wrap, I cubed and part boiled 2 of the potatoes and sprayed them in low calorie olive oil, seasoned them with salt and pepper and put them in the oven at 200c for 20 minutes, as they were cooking, I chopped and diced red a red onion and 2 of the tomatoes and sprayed a frying pan with the same oil as before and added the onion and tomatoes and cooked them until they were lovely and mushy! (It smelt like the hot dog stand at the fun fair!) I then whacked all the cooked veggies in the tortilla and seasoned them in salt and pepper. I then consumed the wrap and entered a seventh heaven. It was such a simple meal to make but it was one of the only meals I have ever eaten that I actually did not reach for any snacks immediately after as I actually felt full up!

Next I decided to make some vegan ice cream, simple it seemed, just 2 ingredients, cocoa powder and bananas! Easy right? Not if you are me lol. I started by chopping up 2 bananas into chunks and putting them in the blender followed by 2 teaspoons of cocoa powder (1 tsp for each banana- its very strong!), at first the blender struggled to blend the mixture and often stuttered but this was resolved when I added a dash of water, once smooth I poured the mixture into a Tupperware tub and put it in my freezer for 4 hours, in hindsight I should have left it longer but my sweet tooth prevailed and I caved after the 4 hours, the mixture hadn’t fully frozen through and the texture was revolting, the taste was orgasmic but I totally cannot deal with lumpiness at all. eww.

For dinner, my mother made me some homemade chips as per the above recipe, and I added these to another wrap.

For snacks I ate some caramel rice cakes and drank Strawberry, Banana and Kiwi smoothies.

DAY TWO (Sunday)

I was called into work today (its my day off), I usually eat a chocolate bar such as a Kit Kat (other brands are available) to boost my sugars pre shift but there was no time for that today and I don’t eat breakfast so I worked on an empty stomach, come the end of my shift I was dizzy and lightheaded and could not wait to get home and eat, prior to catching my bus I stopped by at Tesco to pick up some Lotus Biscoff biscuits (yes, the posh café ones-they’re vegan!) and ate some as I was preparing yet another Veggie Wrap.

I don’t have the biggest of appetites, as you can probably tell! And I was on a very tight budget this weekend, however, I felt filling up on veggies DOES keep me fuller for longer, I must admit, I am an AWFUL vegetarian! I substituted all meats for cheese when I retired from my carnivorous ways and I am a junk food addict but I am determined to try more vegan foods in the future and adapt a fully vegan lifestyle. I do struggle not eating my favourite foods of chocolate and mozzarella sticks, and ploughmans sandwiches but willpower is key!

Vlog coming soon, like my Facebook page “Abbie Autopsy” for more 🙂

Abbie autopsy xo

 

Leave a Reply

