Mental Health Awareness week 2016

This week (16th-22nd May 2016) is Mental Health Awareness week in the United Kingdom, and shockingly enough, even in 2016 some people are clueless about mental health issues, they are still very misunderstood. Our brains are powerful organs and they can sometimes be TOO powerful.

I myself suffer with mental health problems, and right now, as I hate to admit, I’m struggling with them right now, I have been for a few weeks now, I should be so happy right now, I have friends, a job, a roof over my head etc, but the truth is Depression doesn’t care if you have a successful job, a load of money in the bank or a family, it can affect anyone.

Depression and anxiety will affect everyone differently, I was diagnosed with depression around 2007-2008 and at first I was put straight on antidepressants, my Nan had died from terminal cancer and I was struggling to integrate at my new school (we had moved 300 miles to spend more time with her before she passed). when I’m depressed, I struggle with things like personal hygiene, bathing, washing my hair, changing my clothes etc, sounds gross, but at the time, I don’t care, I just don’t give a shit, I will lock myself in my bedroom, shut the curtains and stare at the same bit of wall for hours.

In all honesty, my anxiety is not too bad at the moment but when it does get bad, I can take prescribed meds for it, in 2013, between February and September I didn’t leave my house, for 7 whole months, and when I did leave my house eventually it was for hospital appointments and I would be sedated.

I overthink every little thing and I very rarely get more than 2-3 hours sleep a night, and while at the moment I feel the world is against me, I know things will get better, maybe not tomorrow, but there will be a time in the future when I look back and I’ll be thankful for this bad time as it will have made me a much stronger person.

Some people will naturally doubt you have a mental illness, but that’s why we must educate others on the signs, symptoms, what to do if they think they or someone else they know is suffering from mental illness.

If you are feeling, anxious, lonely, depressed or isolated right now, please feel free to join the Facebook page I created called “warriors not worriers”, it is a closed group so everything is kept confidential and cannot be seen by non members.

MIND- 0300 123 3393

Anxiety UK text service- 07537 416 905

Samaritans- 116 123

 

Leave a Reply

