Alentines Ay!

You may notice “V” and “D” are missing from the title, that’s because I’m getting neither this year. Again.

I’m 22 now and have spent 21 of those years single on Valentines Day, no surprise really, as no one wants to date a potato, I’ve been single for 6 years and I have never been in a serious relationship yet, it does make me feel childish, especially as many my age are/have been in a serious relationship, are married or cohabiting, are/have been engaged or have children and I am yet to hit any of those milestones.

The one Valentines I was in a relationship, me and my then boyfriend were attacked walking home from the shops and we split 4 days later, awkward.

There are people that I have feelings for but they are in my friendship group and I don’t want to jeopardise the friendship but disclosing my feelings, I have also been online dating with no avail, one date was so disastrous that I’ve since deleted all my dating apps through fear of my own safety.

When you’re single on Valentines, you don’t have to spend hours preening and perfecting yourself, you’re not obliged to buy someone a card or expensive presents and there’s no ties, you’re a free bird and you can whatever the fuck you want!

You can eat a meal for 2, all by yourself and you can be yourself, comfy with your hair shoved up and makeup free, although if you’re like me you’ll spend the evening trawling through Instagram and Facebook looking at all the lovey-dovey photos and scowling, even though I secretly wish it was me. All I want in life is to love someone and them to love me in return.

I hope that if you’re in a relationship that you have a lovely day, although do remember to show your partner you love them 365 days a year and not just on a day that millions of other people are, and if you’re single don’t be upset, maybe soon your luck will change.

Stay fabulous,

Abbie Autopsy xo20150831_102631.jpg

Leave a Reply

